Daniella’s Picks: Holiday Edition

What I’m listening to:

Sufjan Stevens: Songs For Christmas

a2602881106_10.0.jpg

Okay so this album is five volumes long and contains 42 songs—that’s about 2 hours of Christmas tunes! Christmas is definitely a time for longstanding traditions, but it’s nice to shake things up a bit. Yes, you can still break out the Now That’s What I Call Christmas but Songs For Christmas is a fresh and unique take on the genre. Stevens offers his own take on a lot of familiar songs, as well as some older traditional ones that you might not be familiar with. This album is the perfect mix of traditional (Joy to the World) and original (It’s Christmas! Let’s Be Glad!) Christmas songs. If you’re up for it, you should also check out his second Christmas album, Silver & Gold.

What I’m reading:

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

6c2810b0-7cd9-11e4-82bf-97f165ff0daa_cbs-rudolph-red-nosed-reindeer-rankin-bass-.jpgWell, to be honest I’m not reading anything right now. I mean what is a Christmas book? A Christmas Carol? That’s really all I can think of, though I’ll gladly take suggestions for some great Christmas books! Anyways, like most people I’m watching Christmas movies. I’m always down to watch Elf this time of year, but there’s a special place in my heart for those creepy, stop motion television specials. They have not aged well, but that’s part of the appeal. Watch any of them, they are all charmingly bad in their own way. I will recommend Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer because it’s so classic. Plus the Island Of Misfit Toys is one of the best parts.

Leave a Reply

